Research and Health Science Education Undergraduate Student Leadership Award


Office of the Vice Dean, Research and Health Science Education, Temerty Faculty of Medicine will award up to three annual Undergraduate Student Leadership Awards in Life Sciences.  The purpose of these awards is to provide opportunities for our undergraduate students in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine, Arts and Science Programs to be recognized for their leadership and scholarship.  We are recognizing these students for their outstanding contributions to academic and student life at the University of Toronto.

Eligibility extends to all undergraduate students who hold full time enrollment in a third or fourth year specialist and/or major program in a Basic Science department in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine.

Candidates for these awards must be nominated by the undergraduate coordinator through their departmental undergraduate program office.  Each department should nominate two students for consideration.  A previous winner may not be re-nominated for a RHSE Student Leadership Award.  Each recipient will receive $100 and a University of Toronto framed certificate.

To assess excellence in leadership and in academic activities.  The following will be considered in reviewing each nominee:

A. Leadership (University & Community)

  • Faculty, department committees and/or governance
  • Mentoring (e.g: undergraduate, high school)
  • Student associations/unions/clubs
  • Student life

B.  Scholarship

  • Course and Laboratory Work
  • Research Activities

C.  Letters of Support & Candidates Statement

  • Philosophy, interest and enthusiasm
  • Strength of support

Nomination Process:
The primary nominator who is the undergraduate coordinator will fill out and submit the nomination form and inform the nominee of the nomination.  The nominator and nominee are jointly responsible to ensure that required documentation as listed on the nomination form is submitted, including:

  • Completed nomination form
  • Nominating letter from undergraduate coordinator
    (1 page summary of the nominee’s contributions to student leadership and academic activities)
  • Nominee’s statement of Leadership Philosophy and Activity (max. 1 page)
  • Transcript
  • Current Abridged Curriculum Vitae

Selection Process:
Nomination files will be reviewed by a RHSE committee.

Please Note:  It is the responsibility of the department to communicate all award/payment/reporting details to the student.

2021-2022 Leadership Awards
Kunal Kolhatkar, Immunology
Nathaniel Vo, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

Emily Mathers, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Fiona Cui, Biochemistry

2020-2021 Leadership Awards
Nicole Machado, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Angela Zhou, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Karen Mao, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

2019-2020 Leadership Awards
Michael Lee, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Laura Tang, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Mindy Lam, Biochemistry

2018-19 Leadership Awards
Abdullah Malik, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Christopher Adanty, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Christina Ji, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

2017-18 Leadership Awards
Linwen Huang, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Sonya Kim, Immunology
Maria Tereschenko, Biochemistry
Derek Tsang, Immunology

2016-17 Leadership Awards
Linlei Ye, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Natalie Hoffmann, Immunology
Sudarshan Bala, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Khalid Fahoum, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

2015-16 Leadership Awards
Mable Wing Yan Chan, Pharmacology and Toxicology
Amber Cintosun, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Charles Lee, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

2014-15 Leadership Awards
Maya Deeb, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Alena Zelinka, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Sympascho Young, Biochemistry

2013-14 Leadership Awards
Anatasia Bosc, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Lucy Chau, Immunology
Francine Chingcuanco, Pharmacology and Toxicology