Graduate Departments and Institutes

Our graduate students are involved in virtually every aspect of biomedical research, including contributing to advances in stem cell and regenerative medicine, molecular biology, immunology, genetics, physiology, developmental biology, pharmacology, nutritional sciences, neurosciences, and solving complex problems in diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, stroke, and cancer. Students have a wealth of resources in terms of working with internationally recognized scientists and clinicians in state-of-the-art labs. To accommodate the growth in biomedical and health care research in Toronto, several new state-of-the-art research towers have been built on campus and at the fully affiliated hospitals over the last ten years.  

Biochemistry

Biochemistry
Graduate Administrato
r: Carrie Harber carrie.harber@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Alex Palazzo alex.palazzo@utoronto.ca

"The Department of Biochemistry is one of the oldest departments in the world. Join and be part of the legacy!"

Admissions Round 1 Round 2
Fall 2023 Jan 15, 2023 March 31, 2023
Winter 2024 Oct 1, 2023  

 

Immunology

Immunology
Graduate Administrators
: Kate Sedore graduate.immunology@utoronto.ca, Korosh Kianizad korosh.kianizad@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Thierry Mallevaey thierry.mallevaey@utoronto.ca

"We are an Immunology research powerhouse fueled by a close-knit community of exceptional, internationally renowned scientists and students."

Fundamental Immunology

Application Deadline
Fall 2023 Admissions
Jan 15, 2023

Applied Immunology

Application Deadlines  
Fall 2023 Jan 15, 2023
Spring 2023 (advanced standing only) March 1, 2023

 

Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology

Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology
Graduate Administrator
: Ian Marquez lmp.grad@utoronto.ca
Graduate and Life Sciences Education Officer: Brandon Wells lmp.grad@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Michael Ohh michael.ohh@utoronto.ca, Jeremy Mogridge jeremy.mogridge@utoronto.ca


"LMP translates new knowledge made from discoveries in basic sciences to advance diagnostic laboratory medicine to answer the needs of patients and populations."

Laboratory Medicine Application Deadline: March 6, 2023

MSc & PhD Application Deadline: June 1, 2023

Translational Research Program Application Deadline: 

Admissions International Domestic
Fall 2023 May 12, 2023 June 9, 2023

 

Medical Biophysics

Medical Biophysics
Graduate Administrator: Chau Dang chau.dang@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Lothar Lilge lothar.lilge@uhnresearch.ca, Dr. Greg Stanisz stanisz@sri.utoronto.ca

"Medical Biophysics is a fundamental and translational research in the biological and physical sciences to address problems of medicine, particularly cancer."

Admission Deadline When to expect decisions
Jan 9, 2023 March 2023
Mach 17, 2023 May 2023

 

Institute of Medical Science

Institute of Medical Science
Graduate Administrator: Hazel Pollard adm.medscience@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Isabella Caniggia caniggia@lunenfeld.ca; Dr. John Vincent john.vincent@camh.ca  

"...offers stimulating and research-intensive Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy programs in basic sciences, clinical sciences, and population health research as well as professional Masters programs in Biomedical Communications, Translational Research and Medical Radiation Science."

Admissions Round 1 Round 2
Fall 2023 Feb 1 , 2023 June 15, 2023
Winter 2024 Oct 15, 2023  

 

Molecular Genetics

Molecular Genetics
Graduate Administrator: Purnoor Bala mgy.info@utoronto.ca
Josh Paglione graduate.coordinator@utoronto.ca 
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Lori Frappier lori.frappier@utoronto.ca, Dr. Michael Wilson michael.wilson@sickkids.ca

"Our rotation program enables graduate students to experience our outstanding and diverse research community in the Department of Molecular Genetics. Our students and faculty are committed to innovating to improve the graduate education and research experience."

MSc and PhD

Deadline When to expect decisions
Nov 15, 2022 December 2022
Jan 15, 2023 March 2023
May 1, 2023 June 2023

Medical Genomics Application Deadline:

  Round 1 Round 2
Fall 2023 Admissions Jan 15, 2023 May 1, 2023

Genetic Counselling Application Deadline: Jan 6, 2023

Nutritional Sciences

Nutritional Sciences
Graduate Administrator: Errin Barker errin.barker@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Elena Comelli elena.comelli@utoronto.ca, Valerie Tarasuk valerie.tarasuk@utoronto.ca

"The Department of Nutritional Sciences at UofT is one of the very few nutrition departments in North America to be situated with Temerty Faculty of Medicine. This allows our tight-knit group of students to excel in a wide variety of disciplines related to human health - from basic science to clinical nutrition!"

Admission Cycle Domestic International
Fall 2023, Round 1 Jan 15, 2023 Jan 1, 2023
Fall 2023, Round 2 June 15, 2023 PhD only: June 15, 2023
Winter 2024 Nov 1, 2023 Nov 1, 2023

Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy

Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
Graduate Administrator: Alim Lalani ot.studentservices@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Christie Welch christie.welch@utoronto.ca
Dr. Ruheena Sangrar r.sangrar@utoronto.ca (UTM)

"Occupational Therapists are innovative professionals focused on enabling occupation and enhancing health and well-being."

Application Deadline: Jan 6, 2023

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Pharmacology and Toxicology
Graduate Administrator: Diana Kam pharmtox.dept@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Peter McPherson peter.mcpherson@utoronto.ca, Dr. Prateek Lala acp.pharm@utoronto.ca

"Understanding the mechanisms of actions of drugs and toxicants and devising the next generation of therapeutics."

Admissions Domestic International
Fall 2023, 
MSc and PhD
April 28, 2023 Jan 27, 2023
outside of Canada and USA
    April 28, 2023
outside of Canada and USA
Winter 2024, PhD Oct 27, 2023 N/A

 

Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy
Graduate Administrator: Sarah McMahon ptstudent.services@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Jaimie Coleman jaimie.coleman@utoronto.ca

"Physical Therapists play a key role in the health of individuals and populations across the care continuum through specialized assessment, diagnosis, management and prevention of illness, injury and disability."

Application Deadline: Jan 6, 2023

Physiology

Physiology
Graduate Administrators: Rosalie Pang rosalie.pang@utoronto.ca, Julia Tausch julia.tausch@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Zhong-Ping Feng (Student Affairs) zp.feng@utoronto.ca, Dr. Anthony Gramolini (Academic Affairs) anthony.gramolini@utoronto.ca, Dr. Howard Mount howard.mount@utoronto.ca

MSc and PhD

Admissions Domestic International
Summer 2023 Jan 15, 2023 Jan 15, 2023
Fall 2023 - Round 1 Jan 15, 2023 Jan 15, 2023
Fall 2023 - Round 2 June 1, 2023 N/A
Winter 2023 Oct 1, 2023 June 1 , 2023

Medical Physiology

Admissions Round 1 Round 2
Fall 2023  Jan 16, 2023 April 10, 2023

 

Rehabilitation Sciences Institute

Rehabilitation Sciences Institute
Graduate Administrator: Loida Ares rsi.admin@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinators: Dr. Alison Novak alison.novak@utoronto.ca, Dr. Sarah Munce sarah.munce@uhn.ca

"The award winning innovative interdisciplinary training environment of the Rehabilitation Sciences Institute covers the full breadth of rehabilitation sciences from basic inquiry into the mechanisms of recovery to influencing health policy."

Admissions Domestic International
Fall 2023, Round 1 Jan 15, 2023 Dec 15, 2022
Fall 2023, Round 2 May 15, 2023 N/A

 

Speech-language Pathology

Speech-Language Pathology
Graduate Administrator: Robin Price slp.studentaffairs@utoronto.ca
Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Rosemary Martino slp.gradcoordinator@utoronto.ca

"Speech-language pathologists are autonomous professionals, who work to enhance an individual's quality of life by preventing, assessing and treating communication and swallowing challenges."

Application Deadline: Jan 6, 2023

Associate Graduate Department

Institute of Biomedical Engineering 

Institute of Biomedical Engineering
Graduate Administrator: 
Jason Wen grad.bme@utoronto.ca

"...where investigators from engineering, medicine and dentistry collaborate to find innovative solutions for the world's most pressing health-care challenges."

Program Entry Application Start Application End
MASc, PhD Winter 2023 Sept 1, 2022 Nov 30, 2022
MASc, PhD Fall 2023 Nov 1, 2022 Feb 28, 2023
MEng Fall 2023 Nov 1, 2022 Feb 28, 2023